February Wrap Up

We have somehow already moved into March, reader friends, and like most of us, I feel like February just flew right on by. My January was such a great reading month, that it feels natural that February was a bit of a slower reading month for me, but I’m happy to say it ended very strongly! I finished the month with my two favorite books, The Sparrow and A Love Song. Here’s what I thought about all the rest:

The Sparrow, by Mary Doria Russell (Ballantine 1996): This sci-fi novel set in 2019 and 2060 was fascinating, both for its world-building, its focus on linguistics and spirituality, and its character dynamics. I thought it was excellently executed, and will be writing a full review soon.

A Love Song for Ricki Wilde, by Tia Williams (Grand Central Publishing 2024): I devoured this magical love story set during a leap year February. Love her sweeping romances and fun, fabulous characters. Read my full review here.

This Could Be Us (Skyland #2), by Kennedy Ryan (Forever, expected March 5, 2024): Loved this second addition to the Skyland series, but mainly for the fabulous friend banter and less for the romantic leads. Read my full review here.

The Starless Sea, by Erin Morgenstern (Doubleday 2019): This book felt like a weird dream, and while I think Morgenstern’s writing is gorgeous and she has a fascinating world in her head, this novel felt a bit too ambitious. I switched between the audio (excellent production) and print, and I may have missed some things in the transfer. Full review to come on this one.

Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers, by Jesse Q. Sutanto; narrated by Eunice Wong (Penguin Audio 2023): This was a fun audio, though not quite what I expected. Less of a murder mystery and more of a found family story, which you know I prefer anyway. A lot of fun, but maybe not one I’ll remember.

All There Is: Love Stories from StoryCorps, edited by Dave Isay (Penguin Books 2012): A fun little book to dip in and out of, although I found myself wishing for longer stories to get more development. Read my full review here.

None of This is True, by Lisa Jewell (Atria Books 2023): My attempt to read a thriller was an interesting experiment I don’t plan on repeating anytime soon. Perhaps when I’m in a less anxious stage of my life… Read my full review here.

White Women: Everything You Already Know About Your Own Racism and How to Do Better, by Regina Jackson and Saira Rao (Penguin Books 2022): Glad I prioritized this one this month, even though it wasn’t easy reading. Read my full review here.

How was your February reading, friends? What was the best thing you read last month? Would love to hear about it in the comments!

Leave a comment